E911 Communications

E911 and the Communications Department are located at 101 W Market Street, Columbia City IN 46725.
Janelle Schmitt is the Director of the Communications Department / Dispatch Center.
The Whitley County Sheriff's Communications Department is the hub of the department. 911 dispatchers take calls for information and for help from the public. They answer all cell 911 calls generated within the county and all land line 911 calls placed by county residents outside of Columbia City.

The Sheriff's Deputies, Churubusco Police Officers, South Whitley Police Officers and the DNR Officers assigned to Whitley County are dispatched by the 911 dispatchers.

Dispatchers are in charge of dispatching eight fire departments within Whitley County. They are the Smith Township Fire Department (Churubusco), Columbia Township Fire Department (Columbia City), Richland Township Fire Department (Larwill), Jefferson Township Fire Department, Cleveland Township Fire Department (South Whitley), Thorncreek Township Fire Department, Union Township Fire Department and Washington Township Fire Department. 

Other duties include entering warrants issued by the county courts into the local computer and the national computer and entering stolen items into the national computer.



State snow emergency by county webpage